Major Changes in Western State Conference

Posted: October 16, 2016 in AVC Men's Basketball, AVC Men's BB 2016-17

With the death of the Foothill Conference last year, the Foothill teams have been distributed to a number of existing conferences.  Two teams have been added to the Western State Conference;  Barstow College and Victor Valley College.  This addition brought the Western State conference to up to 17 teams and required the two sub-units of the conference(Western State South and Western State North) to be broken down into three sub-units.  Here they are. 

Western State-East Conference

  1. Antelope Valley College
  2. Barstow College
  3. Citrus College
  4. Glendale College
  5. Los Angeles Valley College
  6. Victor Valley College

Western State-North Conference

  1. Allan Hancock College
  2. Cuesta College
  3. Moorpark College
  4. Oxnard College
  5. Santa Barbara College
  6. Ventura College

Western State South Conference

  1. Bakersfield College
  2. College of the Canyons College
  3. Los Angeles Pierce College
  4. Santa Monica College
  5. West Los Angeles College

Geographic’s have much to do with the set up of the sub-conferences;  for example Cuesta College(San Luis Obispo) to Barstow College 267 miles one way. 

My prediction is  that at least six of these teams will be ranked in the top 20 teams in SoCal in the pre-season JUCO poll.


Comments are closed.